Teacher of the Year Owns Massage Therapy School

An instructor of massage therapy and industry celebrity will receive national recognition at an award ceremony in October for winning a prestigious massage therapy education award.

David Lauterstein is the 2012 recipient of the American Massage Therapy Association’s Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year award.

The AMTA awards one massage therapy instructor from a member massage therapy school every year based on the teacher’s demonstration of superior standards in education and above-standard abilities to convey the importance and the details of the art to students. Lauterstein has long been considered an innovator and is the benchmark for education standards at massage therapy schools around the country.

Along with partner John Conway, Lauterstein owns and operated his own massage therapy school, the Lauterstein-Conway Massage School. The school, located in Austin, Texas was awarded the title of the U.S. School of the Year at the World Massage Festival in 2009. Lauterstein is also an accomplished author and has written several books on massage therapy topics that include Putting the Soul Back in the Body and The Deep Massage Book.

He has also authored many massage therapy articles for industry magazines, both in the United States and abroad. Lauterstein has a rich history in massage therapy schools as well as music and has composed music in the past. He recently composed a CD for use in the massage therapy industry titles Roots and Branches. In 2011 he was inducted into the Massage Therapy Hall of Fame for his reputation for teaching at his massage therapy school that massage therapy is a science and an art. He is considered by many to be the international spokesperson for this line of thought about the healing arts.

The AMTA will present Lauterstein with his newest award of recognition in Raleigh, NC at the National AMTA Convention in October.