License Requirements By State

  • Alaska Massage License Requirements
    • Licensing Organization Name: Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
    • Website: http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
    • Credential: None.
  • Arizona
    • Licensing Organization Name: Arizona Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.massageboard.az.gov
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 700 hours from a Board recognized Massage Therapy School (Effective 1/1/08)
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 25 hours biennially
  • Arkansas
    • Licensing Organization Name: Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from an accredited Massage Therapy School
    • Exam Required: MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 6 Hours Annually
  • California
    • Licensing Organization Name: California Massage Therapy Council
    • Website: http://www.camtc.org
    • Credential: None. California licensing is regulated by city or county.
    • Exam Required: Freedom of Access (www.CaliforniaHealthFreedom.org)
  • Colorado
    • Licensing Organization Name: State of Colorado – Dept. of Regulatory Agencies
    • Website: http://www.dora.state.co.us/massage-therapists/Statutes.pdf
    • Credential: Registration – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: Five years of professional experience and 300 hours of massage training
    • Exam Required: NCETMB and Examination approved by the Director
    • Maintenance: Registration shall be renewed in accordance with the schedule set forth by the director.
  • Connecticut
    • Licensing Organization Name: Massage Therapy Licensure – Dept. of Public Health & Addiction Service
    • Website: http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389348
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours – COMTA approved school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 24 hours every 4 yrs
  • Delaware
    • Licensing Organization Name: Delaware Board of Massage & Bodywork
    • Website: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/massagebodyworks/
    • Credential: License for Massage Therapist, Certified Massage Technician, Temporary Permits for MT Technicians (One Year)
    • Required Hours: 500 hours, exam – License for Massage Therapist, 300 hrs – Certified Massage Technician
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: LMT – 24 hours biennially, CMT – 12 hours biennially
  • District of Columbia
    • Licensing Organization Name: District of Columbia Board of Massage Therapy – Department of Health
    • Website: http://hpla.doh.dc.gov/hpla/site/default.asp
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from Board approved school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: Renew 12 hours biennially
  • Florida
    • Licensing Organization Name: Florida Board of Massage Therapy – Florida Department of Health
    • Website: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/massage/ma_lic_req.html
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist Law enacted 1943
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from Board approved school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 24 hours biennially
  • Georgia
    • Licensing Organization Name: Georgia Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/massage/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from Board approved school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB, NCBTM, MBLEx (Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination)
    • Maintenance: 24 hours biennially
  • Hawaii
    • Licensing Organization Name: Hawaii State Board of Massage Therapy – Dept. of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
    • Website: http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/massage/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist – Law enacted 1947
    • Required Hours: 570 hours and a written state exam
    • Exam Required: State exam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
    • Licensing Organization Name: Illinois Dept. of Financial & Professional Regulations – Massage Therapy Licensure
    • Website: http://www.ildfpr.com/dpr/who/masst.asp
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or other approved certifying exam
    • Maintenance: 24 hrs biennially
  • Indiana
    • Licensing Organization Name: Professional Licensing Agency
    • Website: http://www.in.gov/isdh/
    • Credential: Certification – Massage Therapist or Certified Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours in-class & hands-on supervised education
    • Exam Required: State approved certifying exam
    • Maintenance: Renew every 4 yrs
  • Iowa
    • Licensing Organization Name: Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Examiners – Department of Public Health
    • Website: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from accredited school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 24 hours biennially
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
    • Licensing Organization Name: Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.lsbmt.org
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from accredited school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or written and oral exam
    • Maintenance: 12 hours annually
  • Maine
    • Licensing Organization Name: Maine Massage Therapy – Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation
    • Website: http://www.state.me.us/pfr/olr/categories/cat26.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from approved school and CPR and First Aid
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
  • Maryland
    • Licensing Organization Name: Maryland Massage Therapy Advisory Committee
    • Website: http://www.mdmassage.org
    • Credential: Certification – Certified Massage Therapist (CMT), Registration – Registered Massage Practitioner (RMP)
    • Required Hours: 500 hours plus 60 College credits and NCE – Certified Massage Therapist (CMT), 500 hours plus NCE – Registered Massage Practitioner (RMP)
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or NCCAOM and State Exam
    • Maintenance: 24 hours biennially
  • Massachusetts
    • Licensing Organization Name: Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy
    • Credential: Certification – Certified Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours – 650 hours AFTER May 1, 2010
    • Exam Required: TBD
    • Maintenance: Annual Renewal
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
    • Licensing Organization Name: Minnesota Small Business Assistance Office
    • Website: http://www.state.mn.us/license/content.do?mode=activities&letter=A
    • Credential: Minnesota licensing is regulated by city or county. Currently there are no state requirements and regulations in effect in the state you have selected. However, this does NOT necessarily imply that there are no laws in effect at all.
    • Exam Required: Freedom of Access
  • Mississippi
    • Licensing Organization Name: Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 700 hours from an accredited school + CPR and First Aid
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 12 hours from CEU Board approved program + CPR annually
  • Missouri
    • Licensing Organization Name: Missouri State Board of Therapeutic Massage – Division of Professional Registration
    • Website: http://pr.mo.gov/massage.asp
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from a Board approved school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 12 hours biennially
  • Montana
    • Licensing Organization Name: Department of Labor and Industry Business Standards
    • Website: http://dli.mt.gov/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from Board approved school
    • Exam Required: MBLEx (Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination), NCETMB, NCBTM or a state examination deemed to be equivalent
  • Nebraska
    • Licensing Organization Name: Nebraska Massage Therapy Board – Health & Human Services
    • Website: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/crl/mhcs/mass/massage.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 1,000 hours and practical exam
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 24 hours biennially
  • Nevada
    • Licensing Organization Name: Nevada Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 12 hours annually
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
    • Licensing Organization Name: New Jersey Board of Nursing – Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Examining Committee
    • Website: http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/medical/nursing.htm
    • Credential: Certification – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or diploma from state approved school
  • New Mexico
    • Licensing Organization Name: New Mexico – Massage Therapy Board
    • Website: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/b&c/massage/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 650 hours and state exam & NCE
    • Exam Required: NCETMB and State exam
    • Maintenance: 16 hours biennially
  • New York
    • Licensing Organization Name: New York State Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.op.nysed.gov/mtlic.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist, Masseur or Masseuse
    • Required Hours: 1,000 hours and state exam
    • Exam Required: State Exam
  • North Carolina
    • Licensing Organization Name: North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
    • Website: http://www.bmbt.org
    • Credential: License – Massage and Bodywork Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from a Board approved school + NCE
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 25 hours biennially
  • North Dakota
    • Licensing Organization Name: North Dakota State Board of Massage
    • Website: http://www.ndboardofmassage.com
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 750 hours and practical exam & NCE
    • Exam Required: State Exam, NCETMB
    • Maintenance: 18 hours annually
  • Ohio
    • Licensing Organization Name: State Medical Board of Ohio
    • Website: http://www.med.ohio.gov/MTsubwebindex.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 750 hours and state exam
    • Exam Required: State Exam
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
    • Licensing Organization Name: Oregon Board of Massage
    • Website: http://www.oregonmassage.org
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours
    • Exam Required: NCETMB/MBLEx & practical exam
    • Maintenance: 25 hours biennially and Current CPR
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
    • Licensing Organization Name: Rhode Island Department of Health – Division of Professional Regulation
    • Website: http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/massage.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from a COMTA school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB
  • South Carolina
    • Licensing Organization Name: South Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
    • Website: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/massagetherapy
    • Credential: License – Massage & Bodywork Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours from an accredited school
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 12 hours biennially
  • South Dakota
    • Licensing Organization Name: South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.doh.sd.gov/boards/massage
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours & NCE
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 8 hours biennially
  • Tennessee
    • Licensing Organization Name: Tennessee Board of Massage Licensure
    • Website: http://www2.state.tn.us/health/Boards/Massage
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours and NCE
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 25 hours biennially
  • Texas
    • Licensing Organization Name: Texas Dept. of State Health Services
    • Website: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage/default.shtm
    • Credential: Registration – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours and exams
    • Exam Required: NCETM, NCETMB, OR MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 12 hours biennially
  • Utah
    • Licensing Organization Name: Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing – Board of Massage Therapy
    • Website: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/massage.html
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 600 hours from Board approved school and NCE
    • Exam Required: NCETMB and Utah Massage Law and Rule Examination
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
    • Licensing Organization Name: Washington State Dept. of Health – Massage Therapy Program
    • Website: http://www.doh.wa.gov/massage/default.htm
    • Credential: License – Massage Practitioner
    • Required Hours: 500 hours
    • Exam Required: NCETMB or MBLEx
    • Maintenance: 16 hours biennially
  • West Virginia
    • Licensing Organization Name: State of West Virginia – Massage Therapy Licensure Board
    • Website: http://www.wvmassage.org/
    • Credential: License – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 500 hours or NCBTMB certification
    • Exam Required: 24 hours biennially
  • Wisconsin
    • Licensing Organization Name: Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing – Massage Therapy Board
    • Website: http://drl.wi.gov/prof/mass/def.htm
    • Credential: Certification – Massage Therapist
    • Required Hours: 600 hours and exam
    • Exam Required: State exam and NCETMB
  • Wyoming